FWSA Athletic Scholarship Program 2021-2022



Ryan Herhusky, FWSA Scholarship recipient, is from Carnelian Bay, CA, and skis for Sugar Bowl.

The Far West Athletic Scholarship Program, now in its 19th year as a means of making a positive contribution to junior racing, has continued to garner more support each year. Since 2004, FWSA has awarded 126 scholarships for a total of well over \$100,000.

United States Ski Association licensed junior racers in the U21, U19, and second year U16 classes in states represented by FWSA affiliated councils are eligible for a scholarship. Currently, junior racers in California, Nevada, Arizona, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Utah and Wyoming are eligible. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of financial need, competitive accomplishments, academics, and community service.

The 2021-2022 Scholarship Team::

Racer	Team	Sponsor
Tatum Akers:	Squaw Valley	Castro Valley Ski Club
Kacey Benjaminson:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Campbell Butzlaff:	Mt. Hood	Erin Nicole Memorial/Skiyente Ski Club
Regan Clute:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Bobbi J Griffin:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Ryan Herhusky:	Sugar Bowl	FWSA
Tea Kiesel:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Jack Lackey:	Mammoth Mountain	San Diego Council of Ski Clubs
Rhett Lindsey:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Tyler Rantz:	Squaw Valley	FWSA
Luca Robillard:	Sugar Bowl	FWSA
Thomas Sickler:	Mt. Bachelor	Northwest Ski Club Council
Kestrel Sullivan:	Sugar Bowl	Mountain High Snowsports Club
Charles Zaretsky:	Squaw Valley	Frank App Memorial/Sierra League and Council

All funds for the scholarship program are deposited with The Far West Ski Foundation, an IRS 501(c)3 charitable foundation, that was incorporated as a partner of FWSA to provide a means of accepting contributions. The foundation qualifies contributions to the scholarship program as income tax charitable deductions.